Mar 25, 2024

Driving Restrictions for 17-Year-Olds in Florida

Some reports show that there are more than 850,000 licensed teen drivers in Florida, so that means there are a lot of drivers that are trying to learn to be safe drivers. To ensure they stay safe on the roads, the state has enacted certain driving restrictions for teen drivers.

If your teen is getting a Florida driver’s license, it’s essential to know the driving restrictions for 17-year-olds. Nunez Law is a leading auto accident law firm in Miami and wants to ensure your child complies with the law. 

If they are penalized for violating teen driver laws or injured in an auto accident through no fault of their own, our Miami auto accident attorneys may be able to assist them. Call 305-444-4407 for a free legal consultation. 

Driving Restrictions For 17-Year-Olds In Florida 

In addition to traffic laws for all Florida drivers, there are requirements for drivers who are minors

  • Minor drivers cannot have moving violation convictions for one year after receiving their learner’s permit. If they receive a moving violation when they have a learner’s permit, the one-year period is extended by another year from the date of conviction, or until they turn 18. 
  • Minor drivers must attend school regularly, or their driving privileges may be suspended. A teen driver could be ineligible for a driver’s license until they prove that they have gone to school for 30 days in a row. 
  • Teen drivers who are under 21 and have a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher will have their driver’s license suspended for six months. Receiving a second offense means a one-year suspension. 
  • Teen drivers who have six or more points on their license within 12 months will have their driving restricted. They can only drive for business purposes for 12 months or until they turn 18, whichever comes first. 
  • Parents who sign the state’s parental consent form can revoke their teen’s driving privileges and cancel their driver’s license. 
  • Minor drivers who are convicted of possessing nicotine or tobacco products can have their learner’s permit taken for at least 30 days. 

Furthermore, 17-year-old drivers are not allowed to drive between certain hours of the night unless they are going to or from work. Drivers of this age must also have a minimum of 50 hours of driving with supervision, ten of which must be at night. 

How 17-Year-Old Drivers Can Comply With The Law 

Teen drivers need to understand the restrictions placed on them for driving in Florida. If they break the rules, they could have their driver’s license suspended and face other consequences. Your child can avoid problems with their driver’s license by following these important safety rules: 

  • Ensure they wear their seatbelt: When your child and their passengers wear a seatbelt, it will keep everyone safe in an accident. Plus, they can avoid being fined if they get pulled over. 
  • Stay off all electronic devices and simply focus on the road and others nearby. This goes for adults too, but teenagers nowadays have had certain portable electronic devices their entire lives, and learning to stay off them is challenging.
  • Limit car passengers: Florida laws state that the number of vehicle passengers cannot exceed the number of seatbelts. It is also recommended that a new teen driver have no more than a single passenger under 18 who is not a close family member. 
  • Obey all speed limits: Driving over the speed limit increases the chances and severity of auto accidents. Additionally, you could receive a ticket that could affect your ability to drive as a young driver. 
  • Be careful at night: Teen drivers are restricted from driving at night, but if they are on the road, they should be aware of reduced visibility. 
Photo of a Teenager Calling for Help

Speak To A Miami Auto Accident Attorney Today 

Driving is a vital part of life for most Americans, which is why many teens get their license at 16 or 17. However, the state of Florida has restrictions in place to ensure young drivers stay safe and aren’t a danger to other motorists. It is critical that young drivers and their parents are aware of driving restrictions for teen drivers and stay in compliance with the law. If they don’t, they could have their license suspended and face other consequences. 

Our Personal Injury Lawyer may be able to assist if you are a young driver and have issues with your driver’s license. He could also be helpful if you’re hurt in an accident because of another driver’s negligence. Attorney Nunez has been named to the National Trial Lawyers Association Top 40 Under 40 list and gets excellent legal results. Contact us today by calling (305) 444-4407. Remember that at AccidentLawFirm.com, Our 5 Star Reviews Are No Accident.